Old enough to grip – My poetic eyes

Posted on Updated on

Using all of my research I have created a one minute film around the subject of gun crime in primarily America but also worldwide. The imagery that I wanted to create was surrounded around the idea of  how whereas it was once the norm for fathers to teach their children how to ride a bike it has become a terrifying new trend for young children to be proudly presented with their first gun as it if were a toy.

The title ‘Old enough to grip.’ comes from this idea of guns being in immature hands ; often the only criteria required for gun ownership seems to be the ability to hold something, hence an increase in younger people committing such crimes. I wanted to contrast between the glamorisation of firearms and the consequences it can have and the tragedy it can cause. For these reasons I wrote the voiceover as a poem from the perspective of a young seemingly innocent child, in both a simple lexical style and an immature voice (pretty much my normal voice but not even trying to sound more mature).

Learnt to grip, Learnt to hold a gun.

Daddy taught me how to aim today. Told me it was fun.

My finger pushing down fast on the trigger,

He carried me on his back so he could make me bigger.

Next he taught me how to run,

My doll under my one arm the other my gun.

He tried to warn me not to aim for anyone’s face mind.

An eye for an eye and the world will go blind.

The line ‘an eye for an eye and the world will go blind’ is reflective of my own views. There are many strong views for this argument so I wanted to reflect this with the juxtaposing of a woman holding a sign with opposite views ‘Disarming me will not protect me’ in contrast to the previous clip of the Columbine shootings. I chose the to leave the audio on the first clip untouched for maximum impact ; A bank where you can pick up a free gun might seem funny but when the audience sees the consequences as the film progresses with intense music and muted clips it leaves the audience to form their own opinions.

Music – Nancy Sinatra- Bang bang (My baby shot me down) Instrumental runs throughout the background as I felt this song was sinister with a reverb effect and the lyrics which are considerably well known have plenty of connotations with gun crime and a step further ‘My baby shot me down’ is thematic with children with guns.

web-us-guns-0119

‘Too many children are dying too young’ – Gabrielle Giffords

Only yesterday morning gun shooting surviver Gabrielle Giffords who was shot in the head during a mass shooting in Arizona stood up and told America

I need to say something important. Violence is a big problem. Too many children are dying. Too many children. We must do something …

It will be hard, but the time is now. You must act. Be bold. Be courageous. Americans are counting on you.

The issue of gun ownership is very real and undertaking the project has really moved me.  It is something I am very passionate about and so In respect of the increasing numbers of victims killed and families torn about through shootings I present to you Old enough to grip.

Old enough to grip from Katie-Marie Lynch on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

