Cinemagraph – The show must go on

Posted on Updated on

I set my camera up and was playing with what I saw within my own personality that I could portray in a minute when I received some bad news.  My minute portrait is about picking yourself up to perform when you are at your lowest point.

'Putting on a face'
‘Putting on a face’

I wished to reflect the ‘performer’ quality within myself, both literally on stage and in my everyday life. The mirror being a protective shield between me and the audience and the make up a cover up to hide my face and negativity behind. My decision to rewind the footage as it was filmed is to emphasise that this is often a loop in our lives ; despite this low in my life when other people have expectations of me I can still put on a face to ‘perform’ to the best of my ability.

Confining ribbon
Confining ribbon

Katie-Marie Lynch- 1 minute portrait from Katie-Marie Lynch on Vimeo.

Overall I was happy with the final footage. After 3 takes of putting on make up and putting my hair up to ruin it again the message of trying again became more meaningful to me each time and so I was able to think of different ways to portray this feeling within the portrait. Following my research I thought in great detail as to how I could express this emotion even without my face just like in the portraits of  Keith Proctor.

I wrapped my fairylights around the mirror to, for the most part create an impression of a professional dressing table but also so that the lighting could blend in and distract away from the details of my face.

Katie-Marie Lynch- 1 minute portrait from Katie-Marie Lynch on Vimeo.

It’s one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it’s another thing to make a portrait of who they are. – Paul Caponigro 

If I was to do this project again I would play around with the lighting to make it as dramatic but clearer. Although it may be something somewhat different to what you might expect from a portrait I feel the busyness and the narrative reflects ‘me’ well.

Although I intentionally shot the footage as portrait to emphasise the length of the mirror I think shooting it landscape may have looked technically better.

2 thoughts on “Cinemagraph – The show must go on

    victoriadougherty said:
    October 11, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    Love this, Katie-Marie. Thanks for following me on Cold.

      katiemarielynchyr2 responded:
      October 12, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Thank you very much 🙂 Looking forward to reading your posts

Leave a Reply

