Women should want to be wanted- Montage experiment (Eisenstein)

Posted on Updated on

Women should want to be wanted.

I personally believe that the media objectifies women. Even this film which starts of as pro-feminist ends up telling a female audience what to do. As if we are a group to be controlled.

I chose to portray this effect using Eisensteins montage theory, partly because I was told to for my degree funnily enough but also I feel that the montage effect can have a longer lasting impact on the reader as they are required to think more about what they are seeing.

“It is not only movement within the frame, but movement perceived in a wider sense. This montage is based on the emotional sound of the piece.”

When the sound and the visuals have separate meanings apart than to when adjoined. That can as seen above in the classic Odessa Steps clips, have great political influence.

One thought on “Women should want to be wanted- Montage experiment (Eisenstein)

    […] in the beginning of this module, where I created my sound edit and montage mash-up my eyes were opened to the not only importance of sound but its capabilities. For me, I still find […]

Leave a Reply

