Childhood memory- A prezi presentation; Reconstruction of Childhood Nostalgia Using Mixed Media (William H. Christ,1974)

Posted on Updated on

An interactive prezi presentation about my research so far into my final piece, based on the theme of memory, I have decided to focus on the sub-genre of childhood nostalgia.

In his Thesis on childhood nostalgia within art, H. Christ discusses ‘schematic errors’ in memory as ‘mental guidelines’ which we often use to fill in the blanks within memory of what we do not necessarily remember as clearly as we think. The idea of memory being unreliable is some thing which has  been demonstrated through art for years and is also discussed with his thesis in reference to film and sculpture.

In terms of creating my own film it is useful for me to consider these characteristics of memory that can be bought to life through film and how.

Distortion of Memory from brian smith on Vimeo.

I particularly like the use of animation to demonstrate this in the film above and, as memory isn’t always entirely accurate animation can be used to create the unreal from the realms of our imagination I feel this is a technique which I will look into.

One thought on “Childhood memory- A prezi presentation; Reconstruction of Childhood Nostalgia Using Mixed Media (William H. Christ,1974)

    […] back on my previous blog, using a prezi presentation to gather my ideas into the beginning of what will soon be a plan for […]

Leave a Reply

