What makes a good PSHE resource? The role of the teacher; Research and Development

Posted on Updated on

As I talked about in my video pitch, the competition for classroom resources is definitely taking a modern and interactive slant.

Leading competitors
Leading competitors

Brainpop, is one of the most used resources in the classroom which holds some resemblance to what I would like to develop. I asked some teachers of the TES community, of whom I got it touch with via twitter their opinions on the software and gathered the general opinion.

Pro’s

Lot’s of subjects in one place.

Colour, more likely to engage.

Videos, illustrate key themes.

Con’s

Outdated flash animation

Difficult to assess progress

Easily used as a cop-out (Head teacher)

I have begun to devise a plan to use this research of existing products to develop something new and innovative which deals with the cons and makes advantage of the pros.

Focusing primarily on the likelihood of the software that I am developing being used as a ‘cop-out tool’, I have sent a short survey to experienced teachers and academics such as associates of the ‘Brainpop’ software itself and gathered some thoughts on what makes a good PSHE lesson. For my final project, for the module at least, I will develop a detailed lesson plan for the use of my innovation using this peer-research.

Thirty seconds after asking on twitter
Thirty seconds after asking on twitter
I got some useful feedback on the teaching of PSHE
I got some useful feedback on the teaching of PSHE

To create something which stays up to modern and upcoming standards, the graphics and context of the software will need to consistently updated.

P4C, as mentioned by this respondent, I discovered is an educational model for the teaching of philosophy for children which runs on four fundamental values:

  1. Collaborative – thinking with others
  2. Caring – thinking of others
  3. Critical – making reasoned judgements
  4. Creative – creating new ideas

Practiced in more than 60 countries, it is integral for me to note this widely approved approach in the teaching of PSHE where there are no right or wrong answers. The role of the teacher is important, and their job is to remain unbiased, and un-judgemental whilst encouraging there students to come to a conclusion. Even if there isn’t one, it is more about encouraging the child to look at their thinking.

Therefore with my software, given the scenario the class will be confronted with, there will be no right or wrong answers, just an opportunity for the class to discuss their feelings with the teacher as a medium of encouragement but not influence. It shall not be a doss lesson.

Leave a Reply

