Projection artwork; Research and development

Posted on Updated on

Projection Artworks Showreel 2014 from Projection Artworks on Vimeo.

The slant on my final experimental film, as discussed from my previous blog is going to be by the utilisation of a projector. Whilst the projection art that I saw in the MAD museum was relatively small but intricate I have begun to find artists that have used a similar technique to varying degrees and in different ways.

The first example that I have gained inspiration from is the work of Davis Ayer, an American artist who uses bodies as a canvas for his projected film to create a meta-medium of the two.

DavisAyer6

 

Throughout my course I have discovered the importance of semiotics as outlined by Saussure, and how whether we realise it or not it is ultimately through the use of signs that we draw meanings from what we see. Using this theory, analysing the other projection art that I have seen in terms of how its images link with time and memory I have been able to begin creating some thing new, and therefore experimental.

Looking at the work above by Ayer highlights the beauty of the human form, with the body a movable canvas to demonstrate an idea suggests a moment where time stands still so that we can observe.

Technically, it is interesting to note the way in which the film is projected onto some thing that moves in this piece rather than the other way round as demonstrated in the MAD museum. I particularly like how this allows the subject being projected onto to create a new physical ‘space’ that you wouldn’t get with normal 18×24 full rectangle screen.

It also reminded me of the experimental film which I created before when thinking about challenging conventions.

In my natural selfie short film, I used my face to tell a story in which my facial expressions could add to. For my next step of technical development I am therefore going to play around with this possibility of interacting with a projection with some thing movable.My original idea was to create the projection and build some thing static which would create the impact that the film had and place it in front of the projector but I have instead decided to make the most of the potential influence of movement as demonstrated in the MAD museum. Therefore rather than an exhibit, this will all have to be put together in one piece with the background projected and the interaction included.

In the future though, giving the audience this opportunity to interact could add a whole new element to the level of engagement the audience could have within the space. If this was to be an exhibit in a gallery then the model would have to use some sort of mechanism to allow it to move. Although I do not have the time or knowledge to do this now, I believe that this is an almost entirely new genre of film and could be very powerful.

original

rear-projection-car2

As I keep referring to, many theorists tell me the importance of building on existing material but thinking outside the box. Within the time constraints that I have, I know that technically the physical form of my final experimental film will be limited to being as experimental technically as I desire, for now at least, but the thematic ideas that I can include have fewer constraints. The way in which time and memory can be demonstrated interestingly and semantically will be my next stage of research.

 

Leave a Reply

