Day two- editing together a sound test for children’s radio

Posted on Updated on

Screen Shot 2014-04-12 at 13.41.43

 

 

Having got together some helpful friends to help me test my script by recording them read some lines I had sketched out, I had plenty of files to edit together smoothly and to match up with each other. My intention with my final edit is to create something which is not only professional but is fun too, so I used royalty free websites to source sound clips and add another element to really indulge its audience into the world that was once scratchings on a piece of paper. Although this was only a test, this was a beneficial chance for me to test my skills.

The editing process existed of firstly placing the audio files into the right order, to make this process easier I used premiere pro and placed the a screen capture of the script in the visual so that I could refer to it as I went along. This technique is some thing which I will definitely use again in my future audio edits, especially with longer scripts.

I used a mixture of sounds that I recorded myself using a zoom mic and those that I sourced of the internet which were royalty free. Whilst I was surprised by the sounds readily available on websites such as freesound.org, I opted to record some sounds such as the sound of the ball bouncing myself at home to test a further array of my skills.

At first it was difficult to set the gain levels right to be both loud enough and clear, but after using better quality headphones I was able to record these sound more precisely. To expand on the qualities of the sounds, I used Audition to adjust the reverb on these clips that I had captured myself using my knowledge from my sound and music module to determine how the sound would realistically travel within the environment I wanted to create. As the location within the script is set in a children’s basement  the area is relatively small and the density of the sound would therefore take less time to lose its quality so I put a slight echo on the end of the bounce, I also considered that as the floor is weak enough to eventually collapse it must be a softer material such as an old wood to do this. With the sound traveling off a softer furnishing I applied the default setting of ‘nana’s house’ on Audition to create an effect which would suggest that the sound is partially absorbed by the floor each time as it loses power. I am really started to consider the role of science in determining sound.

I applied the same rule to all of the other sounds within the play too so that they would fit realistically together, it took a while to create a sequence that was transparent- sounded as if it was recorded on its suggested location rather than in a studio or anywhere else, but eventually with added panning effects to in order to create a sense of movement across the room I felt that the world became realer than any other ‘soundy-world’ that I had created before and that I had really learnt from playing around with my technical skills.

As a test of the script itself, it showed me that it worked in a ‘show it don’t say it’ way which is always a concern with radio. Whereas in a film, you can physically show signs to represents some thing is happening, it is very important for the actors to disclose the story through audio alone, without colour, props or appearance and this task further reiterated this for me. I felt that the humour elements worked well in establishing the characters relationship with each other as siblings without stating it and that the panning effect as the characters fall down the floor gave a good impression of what was going on.

To progress further, which I now intend to as I think that it works well as an idea, I do think that I need to focus on my editing skills further in creating a realistic sequence in sounds that are sourced from different places. Hearing how the actors read my script and bought it to life also made me realise another area that needs work, creating realistic dialogue. In order to do this I am going to continue with my ideas, but create transcripts of natural conversation when I can and observe natural speech patterns before using dialogue in my work.

I look forward to seeing how this will help me in my script writing of this particular drama, and those in the future.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

