Comments on other students work- Time and Space (and Faces)

Posted on Updated on

Looking at other peoples work at this stage where I have completed my own film allows me to assess my own techniques, see what is unique and what works well and what does not.

The final film that I have decided to comment on is the work of my peer Charlie Smith-McMahon who created short film Time and Space (and faces).

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 15.04.07

As a doctor who fan it appealed to me immediately the way that he had used a mainstream market to discuss an idea using atypical techniques.

I thought this was somewhat similar to how I had taken the classic peter pan and tried to utilise it as a way of taking an audience to a new place within that.

I thought the strengths of this piece were the use of humour and unusual perspective. It is definitely challenging the mainstream!

A potential area of improvement could be perhaps to play around with the use of colour and lighting to add another dimension to the visuals. However I feel the simplicity of it also works effectively too in clearly displaying its message of time and space.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

